Kurt Cobain, Nirvana

Image

So you asked why I’m a fan of Nirvana/Kurt Cobain, here’s why:

I’ve said this before but I’ll say it again, I love Kurt more than I love Nirvana, and the reason will be explained.
Kurt is one of the very few musicians who wasn’t after “fame” he wanted to make music, which is why he thought of quitting when they get really popular “I never listen to ‘Nevermind.’ I haven’t listened to it since we put it out. That says something.” He fought for many things like humanity, racism, sexuality “I am not gay, although I wish I were, just to piss off homophobes”, feminism “I definitely feel closer to the feminine side of the human being than I do the male – or the American idea of what a male is supposed to be. Just watch a beer commercial and you’ll see what I mean.” and he was one of the few people who believed rape wasn’t the victim’s fault *the song rape me*.  I can relate to a lot of things he has said and how he felt about things “I’m not mad. I’m in a perfectly happy mood, you asshole” .. He gave people a chance to be who they wanted to be, and not feel like they should be somebody they aren’t to please others “I’d rather be hated for who I am, than loved for who I am not. “Wanting to be someone else is a waste of the person you are.” So many people took him and still take him as a dumb addict, but there’s more to him than that, he never talked about his addiction to any of their fans because he never thought it was a good thing, the reason he took drugs in the first place is because they helped with his stomach pain. “Drugs are a waste of time. They destroy your memory and your self-respect and everything that goes along with with your self-esteem. They’re no good at all.” He was a good person to the point it made him sad to be so nice “There’s good in all of us and I think I simply love people too much, so much that it makes me feel too fucking sad.” He never fit in and he always felt alienated even as a grown man. I know the story of his death and the reason why he took his life might make people go like “seriously?” but you never know, he thought it was the best thing for his family, people he cared about most. 

Nirvana means freedom from all pain and in Kurt’s point of view, that’s what music is. It’s true most of Nirvana songs don’t make sense and may sound a bit stupid but that’s the thing, they don’t care. They came up with their own genre of music and didn’t give a f**k about that either. Their songs make me happy and I think that’s what people should look for in a band or anything really, find something that makes you happy, and keep it. Obviously this paragraph is shorter than the one about Kurt. But I did mention I love Kurt more than the band. 

About ranooy

I'm Twenty, actually a poet http://www.youtube.com/user/Ranooyful I love to write, quite random.

Leave a Reply

